#CGBTakesOn: Gadong

Decided to do a bit of jalan-jalan cari kopi (JJCK) since I am on leave this week. Gadong the mukim is big I couldn’t possibly cover all the places in one day, so I concentrated only on The Mall-Centrepoint area and though there are quite a few cafes/coffee shops in the vicinity, I only managed to visit three.

Breakfast: The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf, Centrepoint

For breakfast I decided to go to CBTL because I knew it’s one of the places which open early in the area and also they had good Internet connection. I had their cappuccino and Brek O’ Day which consisted of scrambled eggs, mini sausages, toast with butter and jam, and a small portion of leafy greens. I didn’t manage to take photos unfortunately.

Brunch : Sweet Deli Cafe 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brunch was at Sweet Deli cafe, which is situated at the back of the bakery. The cafe served various kinds of cakes and waffles to satisfy your sweet tooth. I ordered their Cafe Mocha and Match Made in Heaven waffle – pandan waffles, topped with blueberries and strawberries, with yam ice cream and gula melaka syrup.

The Cafe Mocha is alright, but I feel the cocoa was more pronounced and could barely taste the coffee. But it went really well with my waffle. The waffle I had was nice but can get a bit overwhelming if you don’t have someone to share it with (although I did finish almost all of it myself. Yes, I feel a bit guilty now).

I had to wait a while for my waffle to arrive. The manager (I presume) and the staff apologized several times and offered me Japanese cheesecake for free. I really didn’t mind the wait but thank you, that was really nice 🙂

Location: Unit 6, Block J, Abdul Razak Complex, Jalan Gadong (same row as Pizza Hut Gadong)

Opening Hours: Daily, 09:00 – 21:45

Instagram: @sweetdelibn

Hi-Tea : Fun Cafe, The Mall

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For tea time, I went to Fun Cafe at The Mall. Before Fun Cafe, there was Fun Kopitiam at The Airport Mall which I had been to several times. The food served at Fun Cafe is similar to those served at Fun Kopitiam – a selection of local favourites like Roti Kuning, Kolo Mee, Nasi Lemak, you name it. However, aside from the usual Kopi O, Kopi C, Fun Kopitiam does not serve coffee drinks like cappuccino, cafe latte and the likes.If you’re looking for a place where you can get a light breakfast, or a heavy one depending on your mood, Fun Cafe’s the place to go.

I had their cappuccino, which was mild and had more milk than I would’ve liked. I ordered their Kolo Mee Ayam with Fried Wantan which was alright.

Location: First floor, The Mall Gadong (next to Paloma)

Opening Hours: Not sure.

I actually wanted to visit more cafes or coffee shops, but my tummy could only stand so much coffee in one day. Also I had no one to share my food with 😦 So by the third cafe I was already too full haha. As I said, there are other cafes/coffee shops in the area, such as:

  • Rack & Brew (which I had covered before, here)
  • McCafe
  • The Colony Team Room, Rizqun The Mall

And good news y’all! A new coffee kiosk will be opening at Centrepoint Gadong soon. You can follow @ranscoffee on Instagram to find out more.

IMG_3413
Who else is excited?
Leave a Reply

